About Us

The Cathedral of The Isles is one of 2 cathedrals in the Scottish Episcopal Church Diocese of Argyll & The Isles. The Scottish Episcopal Church is a part of the world-wide Anglican Communion.

Cathedrals in the Scottish Episcopal Church are run by their  Provost and Chapter; in our instance the Provost is our Bishop, The Rt Revd Kevin Pearson, and the Chapter is shared with our sister cathedral in Oban, where Bishop Kevin is based.

Alastair Chishlom is licensed as the cathedral’s Lay Chaplain and deals with running the cathedral’s affairs on behalf of Bishop Kevin. Alastair is also the cathedral’s Director of Music.

Assisting Alastair in looking after the Cathedral’s worship are Amanda Wright, a Licensed Lay Reader, and The Revd Canon Alec Boyd, a recently retired priest.

The cathedral building is cared for by a charitable company set up by the Diocese. Island Retreats Ltd is responsible for maintaining the cathedral and for the running of the College. It also runs Bishop’s House, our sister centre on the Isle of Iona.

To learn a little more about these differing groups please click on the links below:

The Diocese of Argyll & The Isles
St John’s Cathedral, Oban
The Scottish Episcopal Church
The Anglican Communion
Island Retreats