What’s On at The Cathedral of The Isles

The Cathedral Grounds are open to visitors 24-hours a day throughout the year.
The Cathedral is open to visitors from 8.30am until 6.00pm daily
Morning & Evening Prayer are said daily at 8.30am and 5.45pm

Sunday 25 March
PALM SUNDAY

8.30am Morning Prayer

11.00am Cathedral Eucharist with The Procession of Palms & Liturgy of The Passion. Music led by the Cathedral Choir.
President & Preacher: The Rt Revd Kevin Pearson, Bishop of Argyll & The Isles

3.00pm Music & Words for Holy Week
A reflective service with readings, and music from the Cathedral Choir & Sonoro
Led by The Revd Marjory Mackay, The Revd Jonathan Fleming & The Revd Canon Alec Boyd, with The Bishop of Argyll & The Isles

Monday 26 March
HOLY MONDAY

8.30am Morning Prayer with Holy Communion

10.30am Talk in The Cathedral Library

6.30pm Choral Evensong
Officiant: The Revd Canon Alec Boyd
Preacher: The Bishop of Argyll & The Isles

Tuesday 27 March
HOLY TUESDAY

8.30am Morning Prayer

10.30am Talk in The Cathedral Library

6.30pm Choral Evensong
Officiant: The Revd Canon Alec Boyd
Preacher: Amanda Wright

Wednesday 28 March
HOLY WEDNESDAY

8.30am Morning Prayer

10.30am Talk in The Cathedral Library

6.30pm Choral Evensong
Officiant: The Revd Canon Alec Boyd
Preacher: The Revd Marjory Mackay

Thursday 29 March
MAUNDY THURSDAY

8.30am Morning Prayer

10.30am Talk in The Cathedral Library

6.30pm Maundy Thursday Liturgy
A special service to commemorate ‘The Last Supper’ and the Watch in the Garden of Gethsemane
President: The Revd Canon Alec Boyd
Preacher: The Revd Jonathan Fleming

Friday 30 March
GOOD FRIDAY

8.30am Morning Prayer

11.00am Ecumenical Walk of Witness beginning from The Cathedral and travelling through the town

2.00pm The Liturgy of The Passion and Adoration of The Cross with music from The Cathedral Choir
Officiant: The Revd Canon Alec Boyd

Saturday 31 March
HOLY SATURDAY

8.30am Morning Prayer

5.45pm Evening Prayer

9.00pm Easter Vigil Service, including the First Communion of Easter
President: The Revd Canon Alec Boyd

Sunday 1 April
EASTER DAY

8.30am Morning Prayer

11.00am Cathedral Eucharist, with the Cathedral Choir
President & Preacher: The Revd Canon Alec Boyd


Saturday 7 April
5.00pm Eastertide Choral Evensong
With the Choir of St John’s, Princes Street, Edinburgh

Sunday 8 April – Low Sunday
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist with Holy Baptism
we are joined by the Choir of St John’s, Princes Street, Edinburgh

Sunday 15 April – Easter 3
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Monday-Friday 16-20 April
Design & Make Leaded Glass
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 22 April – Easter 4
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist Preacher: The Rt Revd Gordon Mursell
We are joined by members of St Mary’s Cathedral, Glasgow

Sunday 29 April – Easter 5
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Monday 30 April – Friday 4 May
Spring Sketchbook
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

 Sunday 6 May – Easter 6
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Thursday 10 May – Ascension Day
8.30am Morning Prayer with Holy Communion

Sunday 13 May – Sunday after Ascension
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by members of St Cuthbert’s Episcopal Church, Edinburgh

Sunday 20 May – Pentecost
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by members of the Edinburgh-Germany Partnership
Plans are being made to celebrate Pentecost with a special party – look out for more details!

Sunday 27 May – Trinity Sunday
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Sunday 3 June – Pentecost 2
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day (details tbc) – click here for details

Sunday 10 June – Pentecost 3
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day  – click here for details

Sunday 17 June – Pentecost 4
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day  – click here for details

Friday 22 – Sunday 24 June
Alive to The Splendour: A weekend with Thomas Merton
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 24 June – Pentecost 5
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day  – click here for details

Sunday 1 July – Pentecost 6
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details


4-9 July: 10th Annual Classical Guitar Retreat

Wednesday 4th July, 8pm, £10
Young Artist Concert

Thursday 5th July, 8pm, £15
Duo KM Duo Recital

Friday 6th July, 8pm, £15
Rene Izquierdo Recital

Saturday 7th July, 3pm, £15
David Russell Solo Recital

Sunday 8th July, 3pm, £15
Matthew McAllister & Friends
Featuring Aisling Agnew, Allan Neave, Uros Baric & Sasha Savaloni

see cgretreat.com for more details and to book tickets


Sunday 8 July – Pentecost 7
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Sunday 15 July – Pentecost 8
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by members of Ss Paul & John, Monklands
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Friday 20 – Sunday 22 July
Ordinary as Grain – Daily as Bread: Finding God in the Everyday
Retreat led by Amanda Wright
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 22 July – Pentecost 9
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Sunday 29 July – Pentecost 10
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by members of the Emmaus Community of St Benedict, Edinburgh
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Sunday 5 August – Pentecost 11 (Feast of The Transfiguration)
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Saturday 11 August
3.00pm Choral Evensong with The Bishop of Argyll & The Isles & The Cathedral Choir

Sunday 12 August – Pentecost 12
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by young people from the Church of Sweden
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Sunday 19 August – Pentecost 13
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Monday-Friday 20-24 August
Iconography Workshop
Now Fully Booked

Sunday 26 August – Pentecost 14
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Monday 27 – Friday 31 August
Painted Glass Workshop
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 2 September – Pentecost 15
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by members of Dunblane Episcopal Church Mens’ Group
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Sunday 9 September – Pentecost 16
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
As the Millport Country Music Festival takes place this weekend, there is no Summer Concert in the Cathedral

Sunday 16 September – Pentecost 17
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Tuesday 18 – Friday 21 September
Retreat for Beginners
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 23 September – Pentecost 18
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by members of Old St Paul’s Church, Edinburgh
3.00pm Music for A Summer’s Day – click here for details

Sunday 30 September – Pentecost 19
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Sunday 7 October – Pentecost 20
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Sunday 14 October – Pentecost 21
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by members of St Paul’s Cathedral, Dundee

Monday 15 – Friday 19 October
Autumn Sketchbook
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 21 October – Pentecost 22
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Friday 27 – Sunday 29 October
Friends of The Cathedral Annual Weekend & General Meeting
See cumbraecathedralfriends.com for details

Sunday 28 October – Pentecost 23
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Monday 29 October – Thursday 1 November
Argyll & The Isles Diocesan Retreat
See argyll.anglican.org for details

Thursday 1 November
8.30am Eucharist for The Feast of All Saints

Friday 2 November
Eucharist for The Feast of All Souls – time tbc

Friday 2 – Sunday 4 November
Empathy Retreat
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 4 November – Pentecost 24
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Sunday 11 November – Remembrance Sunday
11.00am Act of Remembrance at the War Memorial
followed by shortened Holy Communion at The Cathedral

Sunday 18 November – Pentecost 26
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
We are joined by members of St John’s, Dumfries

Sunday 25 November – The Feast of Christ the King
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Friday 30 November – Monday 3 December
Advent Retreat
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 2 December – Advent Sunday
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist
3.00pm Advent Carol Service

Sunday 9 December – Advent 2
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Tuesday 11 – Friday 14
Quiet before Christmas
See retreats.cathedraloftheisles.org for details

Sunday 16 December – Advent 3
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Sunday 23 December – Advent 4
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist

Monday 24 December – Christmas Eve
11.15pm Midnight Mass of The Nativity of Our Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary

Tuesday 25 December – Christmas Day
11.00am Christmas Day Eucharist

The Annual Festival of Nine Lessons & Carols, with the Cathedral Choir will take place in the week after Christmas. Details tbc

Sunday 30 December – Christmas 1
11.00am Cathedral Eucharist